Wells Fargo Championship

The official site of the PGA TOUR’s Wells Fargo Championship.

Latest News

Three-Time Champion Rory McIlroy Commits to Wells Fargo Championship

Charlotte, NC, March 30, 2023— Rory McIlroy, the No. 2 ranked player in the world, committed today to compete in the Wells Fargo Championship as the PGA TOUR returns to Charlotte May 1-7 at Quail Hollow Club.

McIlroy won the first of his 23 PGA TOUR titles in 2010 at the Wells Fargo Championship, won again in 2015 in record fashion and picked up his first win in two years with a victory in Charlotte in 2021. Since his win here, he has won three more times, including last year’s TOUR Championship, which helped him earn his third FedExCup title.

McIlroy and Max Homa (2), who will be defending his 2022 title, are the two multiple champions of the Wells Fargo Championship.

“Rory has been a great ambassador for our tournament, and he always brings another level of excitement to the competition when he plays,” said Gary Sobba, Wells Fargo Championship Tournament Director.

Currently there are 11 of the top 25 players in the world scheduled to compete. McIlroy (No. 2) leads the group of players who have committed. They include (No. 4) Patrick Cantlay, (No. 6) Homa, (No. 7) Xander Schauffele, (No. 8) Will Zalatoris, (No. 10) Sam Burns, (No. 13) Tony Finau, (No. 15), (No. 14) Cameron Young, (No. 20) Kurt Kitayama, (No. 21) Hideki Matsuyama, and (No. 23) Shane Lowry.

McIlroy is one of four past champions currently in the field that includes Homa (2019, 2022), Brian Harman (2017), and Lucas Glover (2011).

Players have until 5:00 p.m. Eastern on April 29 to commit to the 156-player field and can withdraw from the tournament at any time.

The Wells Fargo Championship is one of the premier golf events on the PGA TOUR. Since 2003, the tournament has welcomed all the world’s top 25 players and in 2019, before the TOUR dropped this initiative, was voted by the players as “Best in Class” among events on the TOUR schedule.

Seven of the tournament’s 16 champions have earned major championship titles and four champions have held the No.1 spot on the Official World Golf Rankings since the tournament’s inception in 2003.

The Wells Fargo Championship is partnering with Ticketmaster to streamline the ticket purchase process for fans. To purchase tickets, please visit wellsfargochampionship.com/tickets. Children ages 15 and under are admitted free with a ticketed adult.

The tournament, on behalf of Champions for Education, has distributed over $27 million and raised awareness for numerous charitable foundations in the Charlotte area. For more information about the Wells Fargo Championship, please visit www.wellsfargochampionship.com or call 704-554-6101.

About the Wells Fargo Championship

The Wells Fargo Championship is one of the largest, most prestigious sporting events in the North Carolina region with an economic impact estimated to be around $75 million each year. The tournament’s charitable arm Champions for Education has donated over $27 million to local and regional charities since 2003. The 2023 tournament will be held May 1-7 at Quail Hollow Club. It’s list of champions include David Toms, Joey Sindelar, Vijay Singh, Jim Furyk, Tiger Woods, Anthony Kim, Sean O’Hair, Rory McIlroy (3), Lucas Glover, Rickie Fowler, Derek Ernst, J.B. Holmes, James Hahn, Brian Harman, Jason Day and Max Homa (2). The Wells Fargo Championship received the “Players Choice” Award in 2019, before the initiative was dropped buy the TOUR, for the “Best in Class”, as voted on by the players. The tournament has twice won Overall Tournament of the Year and has been among the top-five in this category each year during the time the awards were awarded.