Wells Fargo Championship

The official site of the PGA TOUR’s Wells Fargo Championship.

Latest News

Field Update: Past Champions Jason Day, Rickie Fowler Returning to Charlotte

Charlotte, NC, April 13, 2023— Two popular past champions—Jason Day and Rickie Fowler—are scheduled to compete in the Wells Fargo Championship as the PGA TOUR returns to Charlotte and Quail Hollow Club, May 1-7.

Day has won twelve times on the PGA TOUR, with his last career victory here in 2018. Two of those career titles were the 2015 PGA Championship and the 2016 PLAYERS Championship. In six starts at Quail Hollow Club, he has five top-25 finishes. The 35-year-old has been on a nice roll as of late, finishing among the top ten in his last seven starts.

Fowler won the first of his five PGA TOUR victories here in 2012, when he defeated Rory McIlroy and D.A. Points with a birdie on the first playoff hole. The California native has seven top-25 finishes in ten starts at the Wells Fargo Championship. Fowler, 34, has seen a career resurgence in 2023. After struggling with his game for years. He has seven top-10 finishes this season, including a T2 last fall.

Day and Fowler are two of eight past champions returning to the Wells Fargo Championship, joining Lucas Glover (2011), James Hahn (2016), Brian Harman (2017), J.B. Holmes (2014), Max Homa (2019, 2022) and Rory McIlroy (2010, 2015, 2021).

Players have until 5:00 p.m. Eastern on April 29 to commit to the 156-player field and can withdraw from the tournament at any time.

The Wells Fargo Championship is partnering with Ticketmaster to streamline the ticket purchase process for fans. To purchase tickets, please visit wellsfargochampionship.com/tickets. Children ages 15 and under are admitted free with a ticketed adult.

The tournament, on behalf of Champions for Education, has distributed over $27 million and raised awareness for numerous charitable foundations in the Charlotte area. For more information about the Wells Fargo Championship, please visit www.wellsfargochampionship.com or call 704-554-8101.

About the Wells Fargo Championship

The Wells Fargo Championship is one of the largest, most prestigious sporting events in the North Carolina region with an economic impact estimated to be around $75 million each year. The tournament’s charitable arm Champions for Education has donated over $27 million to local and regional charities since 2003. The 2023 tournament will be held May 1-7 at Quail Hollow Club. The tournament’s list of champions include David Toms, Joey Sindelar, Vijay Singh, Jim Furyk, Tiger Woods, Anthony Kim, Sean O’Hair, Rory McIlroy (3), Lucas Glover, Rickie Fowler, Derek Ernst, J.B. Holmes, James Hahn, Brian Harman, Jason Day and Max Homa (2). The Wells Fargo Championship received the “Players Choice” Award in 2019, before the initiative was dropped by the TOUR, for the “Best in Class”, as voted on by the players. The tournament has twice won Overall Tournament of the Year and has been among the top-five in this category each year during the time the recognitions were awarded.