Wells Fargo Championship
April 29 - May 5, 2019
Quail Hollow Club
Charlotte, NC

Wells Fargo Championship Donates $100,000 
Toward Hurricane ReCOVERY Efforts in the Carolinas

Tournament staff presenting a check to Foundation For the Carolinas

For Immediate Release

 Charlotte, NC, October 10, 2018— On behalf of Champions for Education, the Wells Fargo Championship announced today a donation of $100,000 to Foundation For The Carolinas to assist with hurricane recovery efforts in the Carolinas.

Champions for Education is the non-profit arm of Charlotte’s PGA TOUR event, which has donated over $20 million to local and regional charities since 2003.

The Wells Fargo Championship was conducted in Wilmington, NC in 2017 at Eagle Point Golf Club while its annual host golf course, Quail Hollow Club, prepared for the PGA Championship that year.

“The communities in the eastern part of the Carolinas have been very supportive of our event before, during and after our 2016 tournament,” Wells Fargo Championship Tournament Director Gary Sobba said. “We also have volunteers and fans living across this region who have supported us through the years both in Charlotte and Wilmington. We are grateful we can assist them and others through the efforts of FFTC.”

Foundation For The Carolinas is celebrating its 60th year. FFTC is the sixth-largest community foundation in the country, serving donors and a broad range of charitable purposes in North and South Carolina. With assets of $2.5 billion, the organization’s mission is to inspire philanthropy and empower individuals to create a better community. To give to its hurricane relief fund, visit: www.fftc.org/HurricaneResponse.


About the Wells Fargo Championship

The Wells Fargo Championship is one of the largest, most prestigious sporting events in the North Carolina region. The tournament’s charitable arm Champions for Education has donated over $20 million to local and regional charities since 2003. The 2019 tournament will be held April 29-May 5 at Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte, NC. Its list of champions includes David Toms, Joey Sindelar, Vijay Singh, Jim Furyk, Tiger Woods, Anthony Kim, Sean O’Hair, Rory McIlroy, Lucas Glover, Rickie Fowler, Derek Ernst, J.B. Holmes, James Hahn, Brian Harman and Jason Day.