Wells Fargo Championship

The official site of the PGA TOUR’s Wells Fargo Championship.

Latest News

Major Champions Francesco Molinari, Patrick Reed & World No. 21 Tyrell Hatton Latest Player Commitments

PGA TOUR coming to DC area May 4-8

Potomac, MD April 25, 2022— Tournament officials announced today several more player commitments for next week’s Wells Fargo Championship at TPC Potomac at Avenel Farm.

Francesco Molinari, winner of the 2018 Quicken Loans tournament in Potomac, will be making his fifth start in the Wells Fargo Championship. Three weeks after winning at TPC Potomac at Avenel Farm, Molinari won the Open Championship for his first major championship win.

Patrick Reed, winner of the 2018 Masters Tournament and the 33rd ranked player in the world, will be making his ninth start in the Wells Fargo Championship. He has had a pair of top ten finishes in his last three starts at the event, including a T6 last year.

Tyrell Hatton, the 21st ranked player in the world, will be making his second start in the tournament and first since 2018. The Englishman won the 2020 Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by MasterCard and has had three top-15 finishes this year, including a T2 at the Arnold Palmer, T9 at the WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play and T13 at THE PLAYERS Championship.

Other major championship winners in the field include Jason Day (2015 PGA Championship), Gary Woodland (2019 U.S. Open), Webb Simpson (2012 U.S. Open), Louis Oosthuizen (2010 Open Championship), Charl Schwartzel (2011 Masters) and U.S. Ryder Cup Captain Zach Johnson (2007 Masters, 2015 Open Championship).

There are currently seven past champions of the Wells Fargo Championship in the field, including Rory McIlroy (2010, 2015, 2021), Max Homa (2019), Jason Day (2018), Brian Harman (2017), James Hahn (2016), Rickie Fowler (2012), and Lucas Glover (2011).

Players have until 5:00 p.m. Eastern on April 29 to commit to the 156-player field and can withdraw from the tournament at any time.

The Wells Fargo Championship, celebrating its 20th year, is one of the premier golf events on the PGA TOUR. Since 2003, the tournament has welcomed all the world’s top 25 players and in 2019 was voted by the players as “Best in Class” among events on the TOUR schedule.

Seven of the tournament’s 16 champions have earned major championship titles and four champions have held the No.1 spot on the Official World Golf Rankings since the tournament’s inception in 2003.

The Wells Fargo Championship will be held at TPC Potomac for one year while the tournament’s permanent home, Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte NC, prepares to host the 2022 Presidents Cup.

The Wells Fargo Championship is partnering with Ticketmaster to streamline the ticket purchase process for fans. To purchase tickets, please visit wellsfargochampionship.com/tickets. Children ages 15 and under are admitted free with a ticketed adult.

The tournament, on behalf of Champions for Education, has distributed $26 million and raised awareness for numerous charitable foundations in the Charlotte area and in 2022 will do the same in the Washington DC area. For more information about the Wells Fargo Championship, please visit www.wellsfargochampionship.com or call 202-978-8101.

About the Wells Fargo Championship

The Wells Fargo Championship is one of the largest, most prestigious sporting events in the North Carolina region. The tournament’s charitable arm Champions for Education has donated over $26 million to local and regional charities since 2003. The 2022 tournament will be held May 4-8 at TPC Potomac at Avenel Farm. Its list of champions include David Toms, Joey Sindelar, Vijay Singh, Jim Furyk, Tiger Woods, Anthony Kim, Sean O’Hair, Rory McIlroy (3), Lucas Glover, Rickie Fowler, Derek Ernst, J.B. Holmes, James Hahn, Brian Harman, Jason Day and Max Homa. The Wells Fargo Championship received the “Players Choice” Award in 2019 for the Best Tournament of the Year as voted on by the players. The tournament has twice won Overall Tournament of the Year and has been among the top-five in this category each year since the awards were created.