Wells Fargo Championship

The official site of the PGA TOUR’s Wells Fargo Championship

Latest News

Field Update

Jason Day, Rickie Fowler, Viktor Hovland, Phil Mickelson Join Strong Field Headed to Charlotte for Wells Fargo Championship

Charlotte, NC, April 26, 2021— Today, Tournament officials announced a pair of past champions, a top-15 world ranked player and a World Golf Hall of Fame member committed to compete in next week’s Wells Fargo Championship at Quail Hollow Club.

2012 champion Rickie Fowler and 2018 winner Jason Day are two of eight returning champions.

World Golf Hall of Fame member Phil Mickelson will be making his 17th consecutive appearance in Charlotte and holds the tournament record with eight top-five finishes and ten top-ten performances here. Mickelson has won 44 times on the PGA TOUR, including five major championships.

Viktor Hovland is ranked 15th in the world and is one of ten players among the top 15 intending to compete in Charlotte’s PGA TOUR event.

With the addition of Hovland, the top-ranked players in the 156-player field are No. 2 Justin Thomas, No. 3 Jon Rahm, No. 4 Xander Schauffele, No. 5 Bryson DeChambeau, No. 7 Patrick Reed, No. 9 Webb Simpson, No. 11 Patrick Cantlay, No. 12 Tony Finau, and No. 13 Rory McIlroy.

Max Homa will defend his 2019 title since the 2020 edition of Charlotte’s PGA TOUR event was cancelled due to COVID-19. Previous Wells Fargo champions joining Homa are two-time winner Rory McIlroy (10,15), Day (18), Fowler (12), Brian Harman (17), James Hahn (16), J.B. Holmes (14), Lucas Glover (11) and Sean O’Hair (09).

Sixteen major championship winners, who own a total of 25 titles across The Masters Tournament, PGA Championship, U.S. Open and The Open Championship are currently in the field. This group includes, Mickelson, a five-time major champion, McIlroy, a four-time major winner and two-time Master’s champion Bubba Watson. This threesome is joined by Day, Jason Dufner, DeChambeau, Stewart Cink, Lucas Glover, Charlotte native Davis Love III, Francisco Molinari, Louis Oosthuizen, Reed, Charl Schwartzel, Simpson, Thomas, who won the 2017 PGA Championship at Quail Hollow Club, and Gary Woodland.

Players have until 5:00 p.m. ET Friday, April 30 to commit to the Wells Fargo Championship and can withdraw at any time from the field of 156 players.

The tournament will be staged with limited attendance on-site, and strict health and safety protocols will be in place. Working with officials from Mecklenburg County, the State of North Carolina and the PGA TOUR, tournament officials have developed a plan that includes a limited number of sponsors and fans in open air and socially distanced settings. Health and safety remain the number one priority, and the tournament has implemented new protocols to keep everyone safe during the re-imagined event.

Tickets are limited and attendance will be reduced to 30% of maximum capacity. 

New COVID-19 safety protocols mean some elements of the tournament have changed.  Additional health and safety protocols include the mandatory use of facial coverings, social distancing and other health and safety measures. All permanent and temporary structures will have complete daily sanitization. Safety measures regarding food preparation and distribution will also be in place.

The fan guide to safety policies, according to local, State and PGA TOUR guidelines, is posted on WellsFargoChampionship.com.

About the Wells Fargo Championship

The Wells Fargo Championship is one of the largest, most prestigious sporting events in the North Carolina region. The tournament’s charitable arm Champions for Education has donated over $24 million to local and regional charities since 2003. The 2021 tournament will be held May 3-9 at Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte, NC. When Quail Hollow Club hosts the Presidents Cup in 2022, the Tournament will move to TPC Potomac for one year and return to Charlotte in 2023. The list of champions include David Toms, Joey Sindelar, Vijay Singh, Jim Furyk, Tiger Woods, Anthony Kim, Sean O’Hair, Rory McIlroy, Lucas Glover, Rickie Fowler, Derek Ernst, J.B. Holmes, James Hahn, Brian Harman, Jason Day and Max Homa. The Wells Fargo Championship received the “Players Choice” Award in 2019 for the Best Tournament of the Year as voted on by the players. The tournament has twice won Overall Tournament of the Year and has been among the top-five in this category each year since the awards were created.

About Wells Fargo

Wells Fargo & Company (NYSE: WFC) is a leading financial services company that has approximately $1.9 trillion in assets and proudly serves one in three U.S. households and more than 10% of all middle market companies and small businesses in the U.S. We provide a diversified set of banking, investment and mortgage products and services, as well as consumer and commercial finance, through our four reportable operating segments: Consumer Banking and Lending, Commercial Banking, Corporate and Investment Banking, and Wealth and Investment Management. Wells Fargo ranked No. 30 on Fortune’s 2020 rankings of America’s largest corporations. In the communities we serve, the company focuses its social impact on building a sustainable, inclusive future for all by supporting housing affordability, small business growth, financial health and a low-carbon economy. News, insights and perspectives from Wells Fargo are also available at Wells Fargo Stories. Additional information may be found at www.wellsfargo.com | Twitter: @WellsFargo.