Champions For Education

Champions for Education, based in Charlotte, NC, is a non-profit 501 (c) (3) foundation created to manage and operate the Wells Fargo Championship tournament. Champions for Education has been in place since the tournament was founded by Wells Fargo, Quail Hollow Club and the PGA TOUR in 2002. The Wells Fargo Championship will serve as the principal fundraiser for the organization's efforts to support youth education. Led by Kym Hougham, the Executive Director, much of the staff has been in place since the beginning. None of the staff members are employees of Wells Fargo, which serves as the title sponsor for the golf tournament.

The creation of a non-profit organization to operate a PGA TOUR event is not unusual. Most of the PGA TOUR, Champions Tour and Tour events are structured this way in order to provide a flow-through organization where money is contributed to charity after each tournament. Once the tournament is complete, the operational expenses are paid and then Champions for Education can determine how much charitable donations it can make within the community. To date, Champions for Education has donated over $19 million to local regional charitable foundations.

Board of Directors

  • Kendall Alley
    Wells Fargo Regional President
    Charlotte Region

  • Nicholas Carey
    Wells Fargo
    Vice President, Sponsorships

  • Mike Crum
    Charlotte Regional Visitors Authority
    Chief Operating Officer

  • Mac Everett
    Wells Fargo Championship
    General Chairman

  • John W. Harris
    Lincoln Harris
    President and CEO

  • Felix Sabates
    Mercedes-Benz of South Charlotte

  • Thomas Skains
    Retired Piedmont Natural Gas
    Chairman, President & CEO

  • Eric Steigerwalt
    Brighthouse Financial
    President and CEO

  • Michael Tarwater
    Retired Carolinas HealthCare System
    Chief Executive Officer

  • Richard "Stick" Williams
    Retired Duke Energy Foundation President

Tournament Staff

  • Gary Sobba - Tournament Director

  • Gwen Crow - Director of Player Services & ProAms

  • Tony Schuster - Operations Director

  • Lee Patterson - Director of Communications

  • Christine Lockett - Director of Digital Communications, Technology & Project Mgmt.

  • Paula Burnett - Volunteer Coordinator

  • Kathy Kisiel - Tournament Controller

  • Cameron Wells - Tournament Assistant